Unlike the last two batches, the latest bunch of Xeric Grant winners includes several people with actual track records — including Typer Page (Stylish Vittles), Steve MacIsaac (Sticky, Prism Comics) and all of them were easily Googled. A total of $27,235 has been awarded to:

Ryan Alexander-Tanner – Television #1

Sam Gaskin – Pizza Wizard #1

Tyler Page – Nothing Better Vol. 1: No Place Like Home

Ropeburn 0205
Jeremy Smith – ROPEBURN


Index 01
Erik Evensen – Gods of Asgard

01 Ft 01
Kevin Colden – FISHTOWN

The press release notes that Colden “serialized his comic book online just before receiving the acceptance letter from Xeric. The feedback has been great! So, he’s decided to continue posting and decline the grant money – not an easy decision – but he’s still a Xeric winner!”

Established by Peter Laird, co-creator of The Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, the Northampton, MA based foundation offers financial assistance to self-publishing comic book creators in the US and Canada and to qualified charitable and nonprofit organizations in western Massachusetts. The Foundation has awarded in excess of $1,825,000 to comic book creators and nonprofit organizations since its first grant cycle in September 1992.

The next deadline and review dates for comic book grants are July 31, 2007 and September 1, 2007, respectively. The charitable organization grants are decided annually in June and announced separately.