To cap off Friday at New York Comic Con 2019, Craig Baldo hosted the annual Harvey Awards, where Hellboy creator Mike Mignola was inducted into the Harvey Hall of Fame, alongside Alison Bechdel (Fun HomeDykes to Watch Out For) and five former Mad Magazine contributors: Will ElderJack DavisJohn SeverinMarie Severin, and Ben Oda. Then the 2019 Harvey Awards winners were announced in six categories.

Editor-In-Chief Heidi MacDonald live-tweeted the ceremony, in addition to presenting the Comics Industry Pioneer Award to the inimitable Maggie Thompson. For the best commentary and photos from the ceremony, be sure to visit her feed!

This year’s Harvey Awards nominees represent a diverse group of creators and books that span genres and themes, from sports to familial addiction to examinations of grief to superheroes. Of note: LGBTQ books and creators won big this year. In addition to Bechdel being inducted into the HoF, Mariko Tamaki and Rosemary Valero-O’Connell took home an award for Laura Dean Keeps Breaking Up with Me, and Ngozi Ukazu snagged Digital Book of the Year for Check, Please!

Want to know who else took home prizes from the ceremony? Without further ado, here are the 2019 Harvey Awards winners.

Book of the Year

WINNER: Hey Kiddo by Jarrett J. Krosoczka (Scholastic Graphix)


  • Belonging: A German Reckons with History and Home by Nora Krug (Scribner)
  • Berlin by Jason Lutes (Drawn & Quarterly)
  • BTTM FDRS by Ezra Claytan Daniels and Ben Passmore (Fantagraphics)
  • Kid Gloves by Lucy Knisley (First Second)
  • Laura Dean Keeps Breaking Up With Me by Mariko Tamaki and Rosemary Valero-O’Connell (First Second)
  • My Heroes Have Always Been Junkies by Ed Brubaker and Sean Phillips (Image)
  • On a Sunbeam by Tillie Walden (First Second)
  • Upgrade Soul by Ezra Claytan Daniels (Lion Forge)
  • When I Arrived at the Castle by Emily Carroll (Koyama Press)

Digital Book of the Year

1517435374-Checkpleasebook1280 first secondWINNER: Check, Please by Ngozi Ukazu:


Best Children’s or Young Adult Book

WINNER: Laura Dean Keeps Breaking Up With Me by Mariko Tamaki and Rosemary Valero-O’Connell (First Second)


  • Hey Kiddo by Jarrett J. Krosoczka (Scholastic Graphix)
  • Mr. Wolf’s Class #2: Mystery Club by Aron Nels Steinke (Scholastic Graphix)
  • New Kid by Jerry Craft (HarperCollins Children’s Books)
  • On a Sunbeam by Tillie Walden (First Second)

Best Manga

WINNER: My Hero Academia by Kohei Horikoshi (VIZ Media)


  • Frankenstein: Junji Ito Story Collection by Junji Ito (VIZ Media)
  • Mob Psycho 100 by ONE (Dark Horse Manga)
  • Our Dreams at Dusk by Yuhki Kamatani (Seven Seas)
  • Smashed by Junji Ito (VIZ Media)
  • Witch Hat Atelier by Kamome Shirahama (Kodansha Comics)

Best European Book

WINNER: Waves by Ingrid Chabbert and Carole Maurel (Archaia)


  • Corto Maltese by Hugo Pratt (IDW Publishing)
  • O Josephine by Jason (Fantagraphics)
  • Radiant by Tony Valente (VIZ Media)
  • Red Ultramarine by Manuele Fior, translated by Jamie Richards (Fantagraphics)

Best Comics Adaptation Award

WINNER: Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse by Columbia Pictures and Sony Pictures Animation, based on Spider-Man (Marvel Comics)


  • Alita: Battle Angel, by 20th Century Fox, based on Battle Angel Alita (Kodansha USA)
  • Avengers: Endgame by Marvel Studios, based on The Avengers (Marvel Comics)
  • The Boys by Amazon Studios, based on The Boys (Dynamite Entertainment)
  • Captain Marvel by Marvel Studios, based on Captain Marvel (Marvel Comics)
  • Chilling Adventures of Sabrina, by Netflix, based on Chilling Adventures of Sabrina (Archie Comics)
  • Doom Patrol by DC Universe, based on Doom Patrol (DC Comics)
  • Marvel’s Spider-Man by Insomniac Games/Sony Interactive, based on Spider-Man (Marvel Comics)
  • The Snagglepuss Chronicles, by Provincetown Tennessee Williams Theater Festival and Die-Cast, based on Exit, Stage Left!: The Snagglepuss Chronicles (DC Comics)
  • The Umbrella Academy by Netflix, based on The Umbrella Academy (Dark Horse Comics)

Comments are closed.