Since its initial announcement on the PSX stage last year, Marvel vs. Capcom: Infinite had been relatively quiet…until today. Capcom has officially released new information about the game’s story mode, new characters, and a release date.

Imagined and created through a shared vision between the two companies, the game will feature free-form 2v2 team battles integrated into a wide variety of exciting and accessible single player modes and rich multiplayer content for new players and longtime fans alike. MARVEL VS. CAPCOM: INFINITE will simultaneously release on the PlayStation 4 computer entertainment system, Xbox One, and Windows PC across North America on September 19, 2017.

Unlike previous iterations of the fighting franchise, this new game will feature a cinematic story mode. Marvel and Capcom universes collide, as heroes and villains battle together to save their merged worlds from a sinister new threat, Ultron Sigma. A combination of the robotic foes known as Ultron from the Marvel Universe and Sigma from the Capcom Universe, this psychotic villain is obsessed with infecting all organic life with a cybernetic virus.

On top of all this, we now know more characters joining the previously announced: Captain America, Iron Man, Captain Marvel, Ryu, Mega Man, and Morrigan.

  • Ultron
  • Hulk
  • Thor
  • Hawkeye
  • Rocket Raccoon
  • Chun-Li
  • Strider Hiryu
  • Chris Redfield

Also mentioned would be a special collectors edition of the game featuring four premium character dioramas of Iron Man, Captain Marvel, Mega Man X and Chun-Li, a case filled with six Infinity Stone replicas, as well as SteelBook packaging that contains the Deluxe Edition of the game, retailing for $199.99.