Via PR:

The annual Jay Kennedy Scholarship, in memory of the late King Features editor, was funded by an initial $100,000 grant from the Hearst Foundation/King Features Syndicate and additional generous donations from Jerry Scott, Jim Borgman, Patrick McDonnell and many other prominent cartoonists. Submissions are adjudicated by a panel of top cartoonists and an award is given to the best college cartoonist. The recipient is feted at the annual NCS Reuben Awards Convention attended by many of the world?s leading cartoonists.

Applicants must be college students in the United States, Canada or Mexico that will be in their Junior or Senior year of college during the 2009-2010 academic year. Applicants DO NOT have to be art majors to be eligible for this scholarship.

Along with a completed entry form, applicants are required to send 5 samples of their own cartooning artwork; noting if and where the work has been published (either print or web).Please send copies. DO NOT send original artwork.


The applications will be judged by the National Cartoonists Society Foundation (NCSF) and the number of scholarships given out and their amounts will be at the discretion of the NCSF.

If you need any encouragement, here’s a really sweet story by the first scholarship winner, Juana Medina:

Imagine for a moment, finding yourself surrounded by cartoonists you admire, comic creators you have read since you were learning to read. Imagine them greeting you and making you feel part of the family. Imagine, they tell you they’ve also had similar fears to yours, they are willing to generously share their experiences, their dreams and their obstacles, and even their inspiration and work dynamics. I did not ever imagine this could be possible, until I found myself, in New Orleans, surrounded by renowned cartoonists and comic creators, all sharing their experiences and generously giving their advice.