The 2007 Ignatz Awards were presented tonight at SPX in a (hopefully) short and peppy ceremony. The awards were completely hijacked when Nicholas Gurewitch presented the award for Best Online Comic, ACHEWOOD won, and the award was accepted by someone wearing an ape suit. Gurewitch translated the acceptance speech as pantomined by the ape, with hilarious results which none present will ever forget. Although the identity of the person in the Ape Suit has not been confirmed, a popular suspect was nominee David Malki (Wondermark.) The complete list of winners follows:

Outstanding Artist
Jaime Hernandez, Love & Rockets (Fantagraphics Books)

Outstanding Anthology or Collection
Curses by Kevin Huizenga (Drawn & Quarterly)

Outstanding Graphic Novel
Don’t Go Where I Can’t Follow by Anders Nilsen (Drawn & Quarterly)

Outstanding Story
“Felix” by Gabrielle Bell, Drawn & Quarterly Showcase Vol. 4 (Drawn & Quarterly)

Promising New Talent
Tom Neely, The Blot (I Will Destroy You)

Outstanding Series
Mourning Star by Kazimir Strzepek (Bodega Distribution)

Outstanding Comic
Optic Nerve #11 by Adrian Tomine (Drawn & Quarterly)

Outstanding Mini-Comic
P.S. Comics #3 by Minty Lewis

Outstanding Online Comic
Achewood by Chris Onstad

Best Debut Comic
Papercutter #6 Edited by Alec Longstreth