Baltimore Comic-Con News: MOB

Press Release:

The creators known collectively as MOB — David Mack (Kabuki, Daredevil), Michael Avon Oeming (Mice Templar, Powers, Omega Flight) and Brian Michael Bendis (Ultimate Spider-Man, New Avengers, Mighty Avengers) — are coming to the Baltimore Comic-Con, set for September 27-28, 2008 at the Baltimore Convention Center.

The critically acclaimed David Mack is the creator of Kabuki, the long-running indy hit which began at Caliber Comics, developed further at Image, and finally landed at Marvel’s Ion imprint. He has both written and illustrated Daredevil.

Whether as a writer, artist or filmmaker, Michael Avon Oeming always has a new project brewing. He has written and or illustrated a wide variety of titles including Bastard Samurai, Cross Bronx, Foot Soldiers, Six, Beta Ray Bill, Red Sonja, and Highlander. His Mice Templar, from Image Comics, has received significant praise from the critics, as has his long-running hit, Powers.

One of the most influential creators working in the medium today, Brian Michael Bendis developed Ultimate Spider-Man and has written the title since its inception. Along the way he wrote an epic run on Daredevil, and also wrote New Avengers: Illuminati, House of M, Ultimate X-Men, Ultimate Fantastic Four, Ultimate Marvel Team-Up, Spider-Woman: Origin, Elektra and Daredevil: Ninja. Before coming to Marvel he wrote Fire, A.K.A. Goldfish, Jinx, Torso and Sam & Twitch. His current work includes New Avengers, Mighty Avengers, Secret Invasion, Halo, Powers and the upcoming Spider-Woman.

“Mike Oeming has been one of our most popular, rock solid guests since the earliest days of the Baltimore Comic-Con. We’re very happy to have him back and thrilled that he’s bringing along his MOB friends,” said Marc Nathan, the show’s promoter. “If there’s someone who fits the term ‘an artist’s artist.” it’s David Mack, and if there’s a writer with a bigger following in comics than Brian Michael Bendis, I’m not sure who that would be. This is one of our most requested group appearances in the history of the show. It’s great to share this kind of news with all of our fans.”

This news comes after a series of other high profile announcements from the convention. The trio joins Guest of Honor Bernie Wrightson, and such notables as Jim Lee (Batman: Hush), Howard Chaykin (American Flagg), Ron Garney (Wolverine), Frank Cho (Mighty Avengers) and Jim Shooter (Legion of Super-Heroes) at the show. Creators Mark Wheatley and Robert Tinnell are featuring the Baltimore Comic-Con in their weekly EZ Street series on, and popular artist Tom Raney (Ultimate X-Men, Stormwatch) also has joined the show.

Other guests lined up for this year’s convention include (in alphabetical order) Kyle Baker (The Bakers), Cliff Chiang (Green Arrow & Black Canary), Steve Conley (Star Trek, The Escapist), Amanda Conner (JSA Classified, Terra), David Finch (World War Hulk, New Avengers), Ramona Fradon (Aquaman), John Gallagher (Buzzboy, Roboy Red), Michael Golden (Micronauts, The ‘Nam), Cully Hamner (Blue Beetle, Black Lightning), Adam Hughes (Catwoman), Geoff Johns (Green Lantern, Action Comics), J.G. Jones (52, Wonder Woman), Dean Haspiel (Brawl), Stuart Immonen (Ultimate Spider-Man), Robert Kirkman (Invincible, Ultimate X-Men), Barry Kitson (Amazing Spider-Man, The Order), Jimmy Palmiotti (Painkiller Jane, Jonah Hex), Brandon Peterson (Ultimate X-Men, Strange), Eric Powell (The Goon), Tim Sale (Batman: The Long Halloween, Heroes), Vincent Spencer (Zombie-Proof), J.C. Vaughn (Zombie-Proof, 24), Neil Vokes (The Black Forest, The Wicked West), Mike Vosburg (Lori Lovecraft), and Mark Waid (Flash, Boom! Studios).

A list of publishers, studios, manufacturers and service organizations attending the show will be forthcoming.

The Harvey Awards will return to the Baltimore Comic-Con for the third consecutive year. The awards dinner and ceremony will be held Saturday night, September 27, following the convention’s normal hours. As in 2007, the first 300 paid attendees and honorees at the 2008 Harvey Awards Ceremonies will receive a Hollywood style bag of swag. Last year’s bag included The EC Archives: Two-Fisted Tales – Volume 1 from Gemstone Publishing, a complete base set of the soon to be released Jericho Season One trading cards from Inkworks, an exclusive pin from AdHouse Books, a Comic-Con exclusive edition of 30 Days of Night: Red Snow #1 from IDW Publishing, a Toon Tumbler from Popfun Merchandising, and an exclusive Harvey Awards keychain from LaserMach. Nomination ballots are presently online at Kyle Baker will return as Master of Ceremonies for the evening’s events.