Home Crowdfunding Zoop announces its first slate of crowdfunding projects for 2022

Zoop announces its first slate of crowdfunding projects for 2022

The comics-focused crowdfunding platform has opened its doors to more projects in response to the Kickstarter blockchain backlash.

0

With many comics creators taking issue, to say the least, with Kickstarter’s announcement last month of a plan to migrate its platform to blockchain technology, many former crowdfunders have been exploring alternatives. Enter Zoop, the comics-specific crowdfunding site which launched last year with a small number of projects, and which announced in the days following Kickstarter’s own news that they would be opening their doors to more projects in the new year.

Yesterday Zoop announced their first slate of new crowdfunding projects for 2022, with five projects that include a mix of genres and formats. Below are details on all five projects, including cover images, descriptions, creative teams, and links to the project pages. The first project, La Mano del Destino, is currently running, while the others will launch soon.

La Mano del Destino – Series 2

by J. Gonzo
Explore the project

In this NEW series that starts off with this ’80-Page Giant’ comic, we see La Mano del Destino grapple with his most insidious opponent yet: the siren call and casual compromise of a glamorous lifestyle beyond his wildest imaginings. An old friend also re-emerges in desperate need of La Mano del Destino’s help, but can he remain focused enough to fulfill the duties of his newfound position while also appeasing the obligations of this new lifestyle?

ThoughtScape Comics #1-2

by Matt Mair Lowery
Explore the project

ThoughtScape Comics is back with issue #2 — and if you missed issue #1, you can pick it up here too!

A new sci-fi anthology comic book series in the tradition of 2000 AD, Black Mirror and The Twilight Zone, issue #2 features stories written by Matt Mair Lowery (Scout Comics’ Lifeformed) and drawn by some of the most compelling artists in indie comics, including:

Grim Wilkins (Mirenda, Quest, Prophet: Earth War)
Dave Law (The Space Odditorium, Wolf Punks)
Jacob Edgar (Army of Darkness, Red Sonja) with colors by Lesley Atlansky (Short Order Crooks, Amazing World of Gumball)
Karl Slominski (Evermore Falls, Cult of Ikarus)
Tyrell Cannon (Beef Bros, ERIS)

Skyvein: Volume One

by Sen Holiday
Explore the project

A fantasy/sci-fi tale of resistance and determination, featuring queer people of color.

This Zoop campaign will bring the first 10 chapters (240 full-color pages) of the popular webcomic to print in a softcover graphic novel.

Thirty-Three

by Juan Ponce, Gavin Guidry & Marco Finnegan
Explore the project

Thirty-Three is an over-the-top dark action comedy and family drama. Think John Wick meets Raising Arizona, with a dash of Die Hard for good measure. Fans of Barry and WandaVision will feel right at home here, as will readers of Birthright and The Vision.

This 116-page book collects the first five issues of Thirty-Three, a series that was created for the mature comic reader looking for high stakes action, but also nuance. Brought to you by writer Juan Ponce (Marvel Voices: Comunidades, The World’s Strongest) and amazing artists Gavin Guidry (Captain America: The Ghost Army, Going to the Chapel) and Marco Finnegan (Lizard in a Zoot Zuit, The Keeper), this is a wild ride you won’t want to miss!

(The Beat previously included Thirty-Three as a featured project in our Crowdfunding Round-Up, and interviewed writer Juan Ponce about the book during its initial Kickstarter run. While the book didn’t meet its funding goal there, hopefully it will have more success this go around.)

XII: Of Magic and Muses Trilogy

by K. Kiomall-Evans
Explore the project

A Complex Magical Horror Coming-Of-Age Comic!

Includes Magic and Muses Vol. 1-3 — the entirety of the popular webcomic’s 6-year run — along with standees and new keychains.

Exit mobile version