Home Reviews Top Comics to Buy for July 13 2022

Top Comics to Buy for July 13 2022

Barbaric - The Harvest Blades #1, a new Hellboy comic, a Dark Crisis tie-in, and more...

0

Here we are with the top comics to buy for July 13 2022 list, which features some absolute pillars of the monthly comics industry, from Superman to Daredevil to a Very Good story set in the Hellboy Universe. It’s not all established characters this week though, with a pair of my favorite original ideas in recent memory landing in the top five as well. As always, you can find the full week of recommendations below…enjoy!

Top Comics to Buy for July 13 2022

Barbaric – The Harvest Blades #1 (One-Shot)
Writer: Michael Moreci
Artist: Robert Wilson IV
Colorist: Addison Duke
Color Assistant: Andrew Missco
Letterer: Jim Campbell
Publisher: Vault Comics
Like a punch in the privates, BARBARIC is back! Bloodier and more irreverent than ever. In this one-shot, Owen, the barbarian cursed to do good, is forced out of hiding and back to his old B.S.! A whole bunch of violence, ethically approved, of course, by his moral compass, the talking Axe! Find out for yourself why Entertainment Weekly, Thrillist, Screen Rant, and a whole bunch of other people called BARBARIC one of the best comics of 2021.
The first of many one-shots that further explore the world of Barbaric, whose second arc, Axe To Grind, arrives in July!
Why It’s Cool: Barbaric — a madcap and irreverent romp of a fantasy comic — has been one of publisher Vault Comics‘ biggest commercial and critical hits, and now the story is expanding with a series of one-shots, this being the first. And you know what? It is good. In fact, if you liked the first arc of this title, I’d almost guarantee you’ll like this one. It’s got all the qualities that have made the book a hit — witty writing, gritty artwork (done here by Robert Wilson IV, rather than regular series artist Nathan Gooden), and a talking axe that gets drunk on the blood of its foes. This is also a self-contained story, so you can theoretically pick it up and have fun if you’ve never read Barbaric proper, although you should really read Barbaric proper, because it’s good fun and it rules.
Price: $5.99

The British Paranormal Society: Time Out of Mind #3
Writer: Chris Roberson
Artist: Andrea Mutti
Colorist: Lee Loughridge
Letterer: Clem Robins
Publisher: Dark Horse Comics
Honora and Simon are pulled more deeply still into the mysteries of Noxton! Once Simon discovers the identify of his attacker, time is of the essence to figure out what happened to his missing researcher and how it connects to the strange town.
Mike Mignola and Chris Roberson reveal new creepy discoveries in issue three of this all-new Hellboy universe series, featuring art by Andrea Mutti and colors by Lee Loughridge.
Why It’s Cool: 
Simply put, this is a top-tier Hellboy comic without Hellboy, instead featuring a distant relative of his father figure, Trevor Bruttenholm, and other characters from the wider Hellboy universe and mythology. This third issue is the most action heavy yet of a book that has been great from its start, and it ends with a fantastic pulpy cliffhanger that raises questions for other happenings in the Hellboy world.
Price: $3.99

Daredevil #1
Writer: Chip Zdarsky
Artist: Marco Checchetto
Colorist: Matthew Wilson
Letterer: Clayton Cowles
Publisher: Marvel Comics
AFTER THE REIGN COMES THE DAWN!
In the wake of Wilson Fisk’s violent and visceral last act, it’s a new era for New York and the Man Without Fear! With a groundbreaking creative team returning to usher in an all-new chapter, Matt Murdock has no choice but to leave behind everything he’s ever known, and ELEKTRA is the last vestige of his former life. Everything Matt Murdock thought it meant to be DAREDEVIL is about to change, including the challenges he will have to face in the cowl!
Why It’s Cool: 
This one lands on our list not so much because it’s a new #1 (it’s less of a new jumping on point and more of a continuation of the Chip Zdarsky, Marco Checchetto run that first started all the way back in February 2019), but more so because this run remains relatively strong. And if that’s not enough, consider that as of this month, the same writer is now helming both Daredevil and the flagship Batman title. I’m not sure this has ever happened before, and I’m curious to see how this plays out, if there’s any thematic overlap, etc. Moreover though, this run has just been good throughout.
Price: $4.99

Dark Crisis: Worlds Without a Justice League – Superman #1
Writer: Tom King, with a back-up by Brandon Thomas
Artist: Chris Burnham, with a back-up by Fico Ossio
Colorist: Adriano Lucas, with a back-up by Sebastian Cheng
Letterer: Troy Peteri
Publisher: DC Comics
When Pariah and his forces of the Great Darkness laid waste to the most powerful superheroes of all time, all hope was lost…with the Man of Steel suffering the same fate as that of his comrades, join us for a look at a world of dreams he would never have thought possible while alive. Where there’s life there’s hope, and with that hope comes a deeper unraveling of the tapestry of DCU’s biggest event of 2022!
Why It’s Cool: 
For one, the Chris Burnham artwork (colored by Adriano Lucas) is just fantastic in this comic, which really comes as no surprise. Secondly, while this book is pretty clearly a Dark Crisis tie-in, it also functions pretty well as a separate examination of how Jon Kent’s life might have gone if he’d aged in real time, and it’s one that writer Tom King scripts with what feels like a deep and sincere emotional core. As part of the DC Round-Up Team here at The Beat, I’m reading all things Dark Crisis, but I think this book also has a lot to offer for fans of Superman or King/Burnham generally, which is a big part of why it lands on this week’s list.
Price: $4.99

Eight Billion Genies #3
Writer: Charles Soule
Artist: Ryan Browne
Color Assists: Kevin Knipstein
Letterer: Chris Crank
Publisher: Image Comics
We explore the first eight days after eight billion genies appeared on earth, offering one wish each to every man, woman, and child. The wish-proof Lampwick Tavern has provided a safe haven for our eight heroes so far, but now they must undertake a crucial mission into a world utterly remade by frivolous and bizarre wishes. With a special appearance from history’s most famous drunkards!
Why It’s Cool: Eight Billion Genies was recently optioned by Amazon, with reporting suggesting there is interest in spinning this comic off into feature films AND MORE within a shared cross-media universe. Eight Billion Genies has featured an outstandingly clever story concept from its start — what if everyone on Earth got their own genie — but that maybe hasn’t on its surface been something that screams, SHARED UNIVERSE! This third issue, however, makes it clearer why that could work. I won’t spoil it, but I will say that this book is a must-read for me, and this third issue greatly expands the scope of its story.
Price: $3.99

Others Receiving Votes

  • A Town Called Terror #4
  • Batman Urban Legends #17
  • G.I. Joe – Real American Hero #285
  • I Am Batman #11
  • Immortal X-Men #4
  • Justice Warriors #2
  • Kill Lock Artisan Wraith #5
  • Moon Knight #13
  • Punisher #4
  • Quests Aside #3
  • Rogues #3
  • Wolverine #23

New #1s and One-Shots

  • 7174 Presents 01 #1
  • Above Snakes #1
  • Army of Darkness Vs. Reanimator Necronomicon Rising #1
  • A.X.E. Eve of Judgement #1 (One-Shot)
  • Betty and Veronica Friends Forever Summer Surf Party #1
  • DC Vs. Vampires: Coffin Edition #1
  • DC Vs. Vampires: Crypt Edition #1
  • Flavor Girls #1
  • Impact Winter #1 (One-Shot)
  • Overwatch: New Blood #1
  • Star Wars: The Mandalorian #1
  • Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles Armageddon Game Opening Moves #1
  • Transformers Best of the Beasts #1 (One-Shot)
  • X-Men Hellfire Gala #1 (One-Shot)

Trade Collections and Graphic Novels of Note

  • Keeping Two HC
  • Lore Olympus Vol. 2 HC
  • One Eight Hundreds Ghosts TP
  • Reign of X Vol. 12 TP
  • Teen Titans: Beast Boy Loves Raven HC
  • Things We Create TP
  • Voices That Count: A Comics Anthology By Women GN

Exit mobile version