Home Reviews Top Comics to Buy for August 10, 2022

Top Comics to Buy for August 10, 2022

Featuring Hellboy, genies, romance, and more!

0

The Top Comics to Buy for August 10, 2022 has arrived (predictably, given that today is August 9, 2022), and this week’s list includes quite a bit of interesting material. Most weeks are an exercise in making heartbreaking cuts to the top 5, and this one was no exception. For example, I wrote about Naomi Season Two #6 earlier today for the DC Round-Up, and that was a tough one to leave off. But! I am confident that the other picks on the list are all solid, and as usual, you can find them below.

Enjoy!

Top Comics to Buy for August 10, 2022

AXE: Judgement Day #2
Writer: Kieron Gillen
Artist: Valerio Schiti
Colorist: Marte Gracia
Letterer: Clayton Cowles
Publisher: Marvel Comics
…THE WICKED WILL BE PUT TO DEATH!
As the world shakes, an unlikely group of heroes and less-than-heroes gather to find a peaceful solution. Sadly, the best laid plans of man, mutant and Eternal oft go awry…
Why It’s Cool:
I’ll say it for the umpteenth time — I’m nothing if not a sucker for a big silly summer superhero event, and this one — which has Eternals fighting Avengers fighting X-Men — is about as big and silly as it gets. See the past clause about how it has Eternals fighting Avengers fighting X-Men. In this second issue, the story seems intent to double down on the grandiose, which is the right move.
Price:
$4.99

Eight Billion Genies #4
Writer: Charles Soule
Artist: Ryan Browne
Letterer: Chris Crank
Publisher:
Image Comics
Welcome to…THE FIRST EIGHT WEEKS! As the world continues to change in the wake of genies appearing to everyone on Earth and offering them a single wish, things are getting intense! Plenty of folks have wished for superpowers, and we all know what happens when you get a bunch of superpowered people together-they fight! How will our heroes survive THE POWERED AGE?
Why It’s Cool:
I have absolutely loved this concept from its start, but now four issues in, it’s starting to show a potential for telling really cool, unpredictable, and ultimately satisfying one-off stories within its larger structure. I know that this story is slated to run for eight issues (and, heck, there’s a countdown of how many genies are left at the end of each issue), and I plan to enjoy every last moment of it.
Price:
$3.99

Hellboy and the B.P.R.D. – 1957: Falling Sky #1
Writers: Mike Mignola and Chris Roberson
Artist: Shawn Martinbrough
Colorist: Lee Loughridge
Letterer: Clem Robins
Publisher: Dark Horse Comics
Cryptozoologist Woodrow “Woody” Ferrier joined the B.P.R.D. to find exciting and previously undocumented cryptids, but unfortunately most of his cases end in disappointment. But a trip with Hellboy to small town Virginia where a huge and mysterious creature stalks the woods might provide him with just the opportunity he’s been waiting for!
Why It’s Cool:
I’ll be straight up about this one — this contained story had one of the biggest single laughs for me within the Hellboy Universe. I don’t want to go past that, but there’s a joke in here that’s so patient with such a great build, that I think that alone is worth the cover price. Aside from that though, it’s also just a fun Hellboy story and a well-done comic.
Price:
$3.99

Love Everlasting #1
Writer: Tom King
Artist: Elsa Charretier
Colorist: Matt Hollingsworth
Letterer: Clayton Cowles
Publisher: Image Comics
From superstar award-winning creators TOM KING and ELSA CHARRETIER, comes a new ONGOING SERIES in the tradition of SANDMAN and SAGA. Joan Peterson discovers that she is trapped in an endless, terrifying cycle of “romance”—a problem to be solved, a man to marry—and every time she falls in love she’s torn from her world and thrust into another teary saga. Her bloody journey to freedom and revelation starts in this breathtaking, groundbreaking FIRST ISSUE.
Why It’s Cool: My pal Steve Baxi already wrote an excellent full review of this one, but in brief — this is a fantastic comics team doing some really interesting things with genre tropes, well-worth the price of admission.
Price: $3.99

Mindset #2
Writer:
Zack Kaplan
Artist:
John Pearson
Letterer:
Hassan Otsmane-Elhaou
Publisher:
Vault Comics
After awkward dreamer Ben Sharp accidentally stumbles upon a real-life mind control signal, he and his friends set out to experiment on its mechanics and test its limits. But as they flirt with absolute control and invade Silicon Valley’s glitziest parties, they’re forced to ask just how far each will go with their newfound power?
Why It’s Cool:
There is no shortage of comics that want to take today’s social media trends and technologies and extrapolate them into science-fiction stories. Mindset, however, might be the best one. It goes right at social media as not only tech but as an industry, and uses sharp storytelling choices to bolster its ideas and points. Simply put, if you’re not reading Mindset, you’re missing out on something special.
Price:
$4.99

Others Receiving Votes

  • A Town Called Terror #5
  • Absolution #2
  • Amazing Spider-Man #7
  • Batman Urban Legends #18
  • Black Panther #8
  • Blood Syndicate Season One #4
  • Future State Gotham #16
  • Harley Quinn #19
  • Kill Lock: Artisan Wraith #6
  • Naomi Season Two #6
  • Punisher #5
  • Starhenge Book 1 The Dragon and the Boar #2

New #1s and One-Shots

  • 007 #1
  • Avengers and Moon Girl #1 (One-Shot)
  • Dark Crisis – Worlds Without A Justice League: Green Lantern #1
  • DCeased War of the Undead Gods #1
  • Deadliest Bouquet #1
  • Dungeons and Dragons Annual 2022 #1
  • Ghost Rider: Vengeance Forever #1 (One-Shot)
  • Giant-Size Gwen Stacy #1 (One-Shot)
  • GI Joe Real American Hero: Best of Storm Shadow
  • Ms. Marvel and Wolverine #1 (One-Shot)
  • Parker Girls #1
  • Predator #1
  • Red Sonja Fairy Tales #1
  • Samurai Doggy #1
  • Vampirella Fairy Tales #1
  • X-Men Legends #1

Trade Collections and Graphic Novels

  • Amazing Screw-On Head And Other Curious Objects HC Anniversary Edition
  • Blacksad They All Fall Down Part 1 HC
  • Deathstroke Inc. Vol. 1: King of the Super-Villains HC
  • EC Archives Haunt of Fear Vol. 2 TP
  • Hellboy Universe Essentials: Witchfinder TP
  • Jinx TP Dark Horse Edition
  • Kamandi by Jack Kirby Vol. 1 TP
  • Orphan and the Five Beasts TP
  • Shang-Chi by Gene Luen Yang Vol. 3 – Family of Origin TP

Exit mobile version