Home Conventions Events Spiegelman on tour

Spiegelman on tour

0


We missed posting the first few events in this, but Art Spiegelman is on tour for “Breakdowns: Portrait of the Artist as a Young %@&*!” the updated collection of his influential early comics, and Jack and the Box, his book for beginning readers. Spiegelman is always a great speaker, so you should catch him if you can, with an event planned for tonight in Portland, OR.

Friday, October 10—PORTLAND
7:30 PM– COMIX 101, Reed College Campus, Kaul Auditorium

Saturday, October 11—Pasadena
5:00 PM– Interview with Michael Silverblatt, the host of WKCR’s BOOKWORM
at Vroman’s Bookstore, 695 E. Colorado Blvd, Pasadena.

Sunday, October 12—Los Angeles
11:00 AM– Storyopolis, 14945 Ventura Blvd., Sherman Oaks [specifically focused on Jack and the Box ]
2:00 PM– Screening, discussion and book signing at Family Bookstore, 436 N. Fairfax Ave.

Monday, October 13—Santa Cruz
7:30 PM– Bookshop Santa Cruz, 1520 Pacific Avenue.

Tuesday, October 14—San Francisco
7:00 PM– Books Inc. Opera Plaza, 601 Van Ness.

Monday, October 20—New York
7:00 PM– Moderated by Calvin Reid, with David Heatley
Barnes & Noble, Tribeca, 97 Warren Street.

Wednesday, October 22—New York
7:00 PM– Strand Bookstore, 828 Broadway.

Thursday, October 23—Boston
6:00 PM– Brattle Theatre, 40 Brattle Street. Hosted by Harvard Bookstore.

Friday, October 24—Northampton
7:00 PM– Hampshire College, Franklin Patterson Hall. Hosted by Odyssey Book Shop.

Thursday, October 30—Rochester, NY
7:30 PM– Rochester Jewish Book Festival.

Thursday, November 6—Philadelphia
7:30 PM– Panel discussion with David Heatley, Jessica Abel and Chip Kidd
Philadelphia Free Library, 1901 Vine Street.

Friday, November 7—Washington, DC
7:00 PM– Politics and Prose Bookstore, 5015 Connecticut Ave. NW.

Friday/Saturday/Sunday, November 14-15-16—Miami
Various– Miami Book Fair

Saturday, November 22—New York
12:00 PM– (with Dean Haspiel and others)
Books of Wonder, 140 Seventh Avenue [specifically focused on Jack and the Box]

  1. Didn’t you know? There’s a gentleman’s agreement… Chris Ware does not visit New York, Art Spiegelman does not visit Chicago.
    This book is a reprinting of his early work, surrounded by an autobiographical essay about his life with comics. Lots of expiremental work, and thus worth the price!

Exit mobile version