Home News Awards Quick SPX report and Nerdlinger Award winners

Quick SPX report and Nerdlinger Award winners


Just preparing for the Ignatz awards in our room, but today looked to be a boffo day for the SPX, with a LINE of people as the show opened at 11 and reports of brisk sales from the jammed hallways.

Last night’s party at Atomic Books in Baltimore was also a blast from reports, and the Nerdlinger Awards were handed out in what we’re sure was a dignified and stentorian manner. And here’s the list of winners:

Kate Beaton – The Dangerous Minds Award for Bringing History Back To the Streets
Justin J Fox -The Significancy Award for Significant Significance
Jeff Lok – Single Best Sentence in A Short Form Comic, or The “I Just Shot The Fucking Sun” Award
Maris Wicks – Random Informative Facts About Invertebrates & Best All-Around Coffee Shop Drawing Session Chatter.
Alec Longstreth – Most Missed Cartoonist
Alex Bullet and Andrew Greenstone – The Maypole Celebration Award for Editing an Anthology that Reached Positive-Numbered Issues
Tim Piotrowski – Best Heart-Wrenching Journey of Self-discovery of a Sugary Drink
Dada Detective’s team of Dave, Matt and Stephanie – Most Outspoken Mime Character
Laura Park – The Warmest Drawings In Comics
Kevin McShane Best Rationalization For Retaining A Ridiculously Counter-Intuitive Comic Title
Dustin Harbin – Greatest Gentleman/Greatest Smile in Indie Comics
Sarah Oleksyk – Teenager Comic Character of The Year
Jamie Tanner – Style Award for Making Comics Look Good
Dylan Williams – MCA Award for Making Comics Awesome
Miss Lasko-Gross – Third Annual Montgomery Burns Award for Outstanding Achievement in the Field of Excellence

That’s all for now…more after the Ignatz / Karaoke Extravaganza.

  1. I just posted some pix of the Atomic Books “SPXplosion”, including the Nerdlinger awards presentation, on the SPX’s Facebook page.

Exit mobile version