Home News Montana and Hogarth judges’ choice for Eisner Hall of Fame

Montana and Hogarth judges’ choice for Eisner Hall of Fame


Bob Montana, co-creator of the beloved Archie characters, and Burne Hogarth, an artist who drew the Tarzan comic strip and helped found New York’s School of Visual Arts, have been named to the 2010 Eisner Award Hall of Fame by this year’s judges. Four more selections will be made by voters from a list of 13: Carl Burgos, Steve Gerber, Dick Giordano, Michael Kaluta, Jack Kamen, Frans Masereel, Sheldon Moldoff, Marty Nodell, George McManus, Bob Oksner, Bob Powell, Yoshihiro Tatsumi, and Mort Weisinger. More information on the nominees can be found on the Eisner Awards website: www.comic-con.org/cci/cci_eisners_main.shtml

The judges this year were aided by students from the Center for Cartoon Studies, who made suggestions and did research on the nominees.

More info and PR below:

Online voting is now open. To vote, you must be a professional working in the comics industry, whether as a creator (writer, artist, cartoonist, colorist, letterer), a publisher or editor, or a retailer (comics store owner or manager). Eligible voters can visit www.eisnervote.com to register and then select up to four picks in the Hall of Fame category. The deadline for voting is March 31. Further eligibility information is provided on the Eisner Awards page.

The 2010 Eisner Awards judging panel consists of academic Craig Fisher (Appalachian State University), librarian Francisca Goldsmith (Berkeley, California), reviewer John Hogan (GraphicNovelReporter.com), comics writer James Hudnall (The Psycho, Harsh Realm), and retailer Wayne Winsett (Time Warp Comics, Boulder, Colorado).

The judges were assisted by students at Vermont’s Center for Cartoon Studies, who made suggestions for Hall of Fame nominees and provided background information on the people they suggested. Eisner Awards administrator Jackie Estrada notes that the contributions of the students was very helpful and is looking forward to working with CCS instructor Steve Bissette and his students again next year.

The online voting process is being conducted by Mel Thompson and Associates, the official tabulators of the Eisner Awards. The rest of the categories will be available for online voting in mid-April. In addition, paper ballots will still be mailed out and a pdf version will be available for downloading; the paper ballots will be tabulated along with the online votes for the other categories.

The Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards are underwritten by Comic-Con, the nonprofit educational organization dedicated to creating awareness of and appreciation for comics and related popular art forms, primarily through the presentation of conventions and events that celebrate the historic and ongoing contributions of comics to art and culture.

The Eisner Awards will take place at a gala awards ceremony to be held on July 23 at the Hilton San Diego Bayfront Hotel.

  1. Burne Hogarth also wrote and drew some excellent instructional books, not just for comics. I don’t know if anyone practices the DaVinci/Michelangelo style of drawing anymore… the ability to render realistic figures and scenes with just a pencil or charcoal. Hogarth’s books help to achieve that skill.

    An interesting class for the Hall of Fame. It would be interesting to see the nominees for each year. What are the regulations/qualifications? Are they posted somewhere? Are there capsule biographies for the others?

Exit mobile version