The winners of the Inkwell Awards, honoring the best in inking, have been announced. According to the PR:

This year saw the voting process refined, streamlined and no longer career retrospective in theme (except for the Hall of Fame). New categories were added and redundant ones removed. Instead of an open ballot, ala 2008, this year has seen a collection of nominators consisting of notable industry experts, journalists and professionals alike who have elected to vote for artists in those categories. The nominators will elect the artists they believe fit the categories, the committee will validate those choices, and voting will then be open for the general public. The overall winners will be those artists with the most votes at the end of the process. A full list of the nominators can be found at the Inkwell Awards web-site ( The nominators will be a rotating list, changing from year to year, to ensure diversity and fairness in both the nominating and voting process.

FAVORITE INKER (favourite inker over another’s comic book pencil art from ’08 material)
Wade Von Grawbadger (Ultimate Spider-Man) winner
Mark Morales (Thor, Secret Invasion) runner-up

MOST ADAPTABLE (showing exceptional ink style versatility over other comic book pencil artists in ’08)
Tim Townsend (Amazing Spiderman) winner
Danny Miki (Incredible Hercules, Ultimate annuals) runner-up

PROPS AWARD (inker over others comic book pencil art deserving of more attention from ’08)
Matt Ryan (Ms. Marvel, Wonder Woman) winner
Stefano Gaudiano (The Immortal Iron Fist, Daredevil) co-runner-up
Steve Leialoha (Fables) co-runner-up

THE SPAMI (favourite Small Press And Mainstream-Independent: ’08 comic book cover-dated ink work over another pencil artist (Non-Marvel or DC work))
Tim Townsend (Witchblade) winner
Tom Van Zandt (Unhappy Gran’ma) runner-up

ALL IN ONE AWARD (Favourite artist known for almost-exclusively inking his/her own comic book pencil work and rarely the work of others in ’08)
Mike Mignola (Hellboy: In the Chapel of Moloch) winner
Simone Bianchi (Astonishing X-Men) runner-up

THE JOE SINNOTT AWARD (a hall of fame designation for an inking career of outstanding accomplishment (lifetime achievement, 15-years minimum- not limited to ’08 comic book material)- two winners chosen annually)
Terry Austin (winner)
Dick Giordano (winner)
Tim Townsend (runner-up)