Home News Awards 2010 Lulu Award nominees announced

2010 Lulu Award nominees announced


Nominees for the 2010 Lulu Awards, recognizing “the people and projects that helped to open eyes and minds to the amazing comic and cartooning work by and/or about women” have been announced. Voting is open to the public at this link, with the voting deadline September 27th. The awards will be presented at the Long Beach Comic-Con on October 29th.

Leah Adezio Award for Best Kid-Friendly Work
• Jennifer L. Holm &; Matthew Holm:  Babymouse: The Musical and Babymouse: Dragonslayer
• Tory Woollcott: Mirror Mind
• Diana Nock: The Intrepid Girlbot
• Teddy Riawen, Phuong Hong Au Nguyen, and Malcolm Harris: Witch Girls Tales Issue 1 Volume 2
• David Petersen: Mouse Guard: Winter 1152
• Roger Langridge: The Muppet Show Comic Book: The Treasure of Peg-Leg Wilson
• Art Balthazar and Franco Aureliani: Tiny Titans

Best Female Character:
• Marie Levesque: The Road To God Knows by Von Allan
• Ramona Flowers: Scott Pilgrim, Bryan Lee O’Malley
• Creepy Carly: Creepy Carly, Carly Mizzou
• Girlbot: The Intrepid Girlbot, Diana Nock
• Ivy: Ivy, Sarah Oleksyk
• Mot Fleishman: Eros Inc., Michael Jonathan
• Hannelore Ellicott-Chatham: Questionable Content, Jeph Jacques
• Gemma: Nurse Nurse, Katie Skelly
• Mindy Markus: The Night Owls, Peter and Bobby Timony
• Fusella Mierter: Galaxion, Tara Tallan

Kim Yale Award for Most Talented Newcomer:
• Von Allan: The Road To God Knows
• Tory Woollcott: Mirror Mind
• Diana Nock: The Intrepid Girlbot
• Athena Currier: Action Athena
• Kathryn Immonen: The Runaways
• Lisa Hanawalt: I Want You
• Carolyn Belefski: Curls

Lulu of the Year:
• Hope Larson
• The Road To God Knows by Von Allan
• Tara Tallan
• Kate Beaton
• Mirror Mind, Tory Woollcott
• Channel M Publishing
• Raina Telgemeier
• Jill Thompson
• Miss Lasko-Gross
• Katie Skelly
• Françoise Mouly
• Carol Tyler

Woman of Distinction:
• Amy Adams: co-proprietor of Bergen Street Comics
• Sam (Samantha) Boswell: assisted on Von Allan’s The Road To God Knows
• Laura Hudson: Comics Alliance
• Katie Merrit: retailer, Green Brain Comics
• Lauren Sankovitch: editor, Marvel Comics
• Elizabeth Dingmann: Lerner Publishing publicist
• Jenette Kahn: Former Publisher, DC Comics
• Peggy Burns: Associate Publisher, Marketing & Sales, Drawn & Quarterly
• Françoise Mouly: Publisher/Editorial Director TOON Books

The Female Cartoonists Hall Of Fame:
• Carla Speed McNeil
• Louise Simonson
• Devin Grayson
• Zelda Mavin Jackson aka Jackie Ormes
• Diana Nock
• Athena Currier
• Roz Chast
• Dori Seda
• Alison Bechdel

Exit mobile version