The Inkwell Awards for inking were handed out on Sunday at Wizard World New England in Boston, and Mark Morales won Favorite Inker. Klaus Janson and Al Williamson won the Joe Sinnott Hall of Fame awards. Complete winners in bold below.

Favorite Inker: favorite inker over the pencil work of another artist from ’09 cover-dated  interior comic book material 
Christian Alamy (Green Lantern, Final Crisis)  
Oclair Albert (Blackest Night)  
(41%) Mark Morales (Thor, Mighty Avengers, Dark Reign:The List, Wolverine)  WINNER
Jon Sibal (Superman: Secret Origin, Supergirl, Dark Avengers/X-men: Utopia) RUNNER-UP

Most-adaptable Inker: showing exceptional ink style versatility over other pencil artists in ’09 cover-dated interior comic book material
(34%) Scott Hanna (War of Kings: Ascension, Dark Reign: Hawkeye, Nova, Thunderbolts, R.E.B.E.L.S.)WINNER 
Victor Olazaba (Avengers: The Initiative, Guardians of the Galaxy) 
Andy Owens (Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Trinity, Strange Adventures, Batman Confidential, Red Circle) 
Dan Parsons (Star Wars: Legacy, Star Wars: Clone Wars) RUNNER-UP
Props award: inker deserving of more attention for their work over other pencilers from ’09 cover-dated interior comic book material
Christian Alamy (Green Lantern, Final Crisis) 
Rebecca Buchman (Green Lantern Corps)  
(31%) Jonathan Glapion (Batman & Robin, Green Lantern)  WINNER
Jackson (Butch) Guice (Captain America, Cap:Reborn) RUNNER-UP
The S.P.A.M.I: for favorite Small Press And Mainstream-Independent ’09 cover-dated interior comic book ink work over another pencil artist (Non-Marvel or DC work)
Todd McFarlane (Haunt) 
Andy Owens (Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Trinity, Red Circle)  
(39%) Dan Parsons (Star Wars: Legacy, Star Wars: Clone Wars) WINNER
Cliff Rathburn (Invincible, Walking Dead)  RUNNER-UP
All-in-one award: for favorite artist known for inking his/ her own pencil work in ’09 cover-dated interior comic book material
(37%) Amanda Conner (Powergirl)  WINNER
Peter Krause (Irredeemable)
Tim Vigil (Frank Frazetta’s Dark Kingdom)  
J.H. Williams (Detective Comics) RUNNER-UP
THE JOE SINNOTT HALL OF FAME AWARD: a hall of fame designation for an inking career of outstanding accomplishment in comic books (lifetime achievement, 25-years minimum- two winners chosen annually)
Murphy Anderson  
Dick Ayers 
John Beatty  
Ernie Chan  
Frank Giacoia 
Klaus Janson 
Bob McLeod 
Kevin Nowlan 
Tom Palmer 
Al Williamson 
Wally Wood

With an exciting turnout in voting from September 15 to October 15, The Inkwell Awards are now able to release the ballot results from the six categories targeting ink artists for the third year.  Favorite Inker runner-up from the 2009 ballot, Mark Morales took the winning slot for this year for his work on various Marvel titles, doubling his percentage lead from runner-up Jon Sibal.  Dan Parsons took his first trophy win for his Dark Horse Star Wars work for The S.P.A.M.I category and was close to snatching a second trophy win with him being only one percentage behind Scott Hanna who won the Most-Apaptable Inker category for his assorted and diverse inking style for Marvel. Cliff Rathburn performed well getting the runner-up slot in the S.P.A.M.I. for his now uber-popular work on The Walking Dead.  The Props Awards had the closest race after the Most-Adaptable category with Jonathan Glapion inching out Jackson (Butch) Guice by one percentage point for his popular DC material.   Amanda Conner took the All-in-One Award, beating out runner-up J.H. Williams by five percentage points for her fan-favorite work on Powergirl.  Amanda was a runner-up for this same category last year for her work on DC’s Terra.

For the Joe Sinnott Hall of Fame Award this year’s award recipients were Klaus Janson and Al Williamson, who passed on last June at the age of 79, with Wally Wood just a hair from the winning votes. Klaus Janson, a HoF nominee in 2009, started out as 2009 Inkwell Awards Hall of Fame recipient Dick Giordano’s inking assistant in the early ’70s and, with almost 40 years of inking work behind him, is probably most-known for his work with Frank Miller on Daredevil and Batman The Dark Knight Returns at Marvel and DC Comics, respectively.  He has also established himself as a penciller, writer, colorist, and a teacher at the School of Visual Arts in New York City.  Al Williamson, recipient of three Eisner Awards for Best Inker and The Will Eisner Hall of Fame Award, had a remarkable career spanning sixty years. He is probably best know for his illustrations for E.C. Comics in Weird Fantasy and Weird Science in the 1950s and various Star Wars-related series and strips from the ’80s and ’90s. He worked primarily as an ink artist from the mid-80s through the mid-’90s. His widow Cori Williamson said of Al’s award win when contacted “I am very touched and happy to hear about this award.  It is such an honor and I thank you.  I will place it in his studio on his drawing table…..It is very touching that Al is being remembered”.  Al and Klaus join Dick Giordano, Terry Austin, and Joe Sinnott for previous wins in this special category.   2010 HoF nominees who were also nominated last year were Murphy Anderson, Tom Palmer, and Joe Giella.

The results were officially announced by Inkwell Awards ambassador Ethan Van Sciver on Sunday October 17 at Wizardworld: New England at the Hynes Convention Center in Boston.

For more info regarding the 2010 results such as winners quotes, nomination committee participants, and more, please keep checking the official Inkwell Awards website at

The Inkwell Awards is a non-profit organization whose mission is to promote and educate about the craft of comic book inking and to annually recognize and award the best ink artists and their work. Now wrapping up their third year, the organization is overseen by a number of industry professionals such as founder & director Bob Almond, Daniel Best, Jimmy Tournas, Bob Shaw, Nathan Massengill who make up the IA core committee and Adam Hughes, Mike Marts, Ethan Van Sciver, Mark Brooks, Sal Velluto, Mike McKone, and Trevor Von Eeden who make up their IA ambassadors. They sponsor the Dave Simons Inkwell Memorial Scholarship Fund for the Joe Kubert School of Cartoon & Graphic Art and host the Joe Sinnott Hall of Fame Award.


  1. Congrats to the winners, especially Mark Morales, as these inkers have been in the trenches for years delivering exceptional work without proper acknowledgement, until now! Good show!

  2. Way to go Mark! All those guys deserve the recognition, the guys at The Inkwell Awards are doing a great job promoting the most overlooked artists in comics: the inkers!

  3. Chaussure Gucci, cela se passe ment cup¨ celui-ci qui pourra ¨otre are generally fin p new york Vogue Week londonienne, au moment o¨′ ces moddes ont confirm storage containers . Todd Lynn, Temperley, Aquascutum Michael van der Pork et ainsi Louise Gray, au sein du Milan storage containers . assister not casting dump Gucci.