2011 Inkwell Award nominees

201104011225 2011 Inkwell Award nominees

Voting in the 2011 Inkwell Awards, honoring the best in the art if inking, has just been opened. The nominees are below; the awards will be presented…well, the PR doesn’t really say.

There are some amusing categories below — Klaus Janson needs more attention and Todd McFarlane is small press — but giving the hard working inkers of the world some props is always a good thing.

1) Favorite Inker: fave inker over the pencil work of another artist from ’10 cover-dated interior comic book material 
1   Mark Farmer (Hulk, Avengers Prime)
2   Scott Hanna (Batman & Robin, Shadowland: Powerman, Black Widow: Deadly Origin)
3   Klaus Janson (Avengers)
4   Mark Morales (Avengers: The Children’s Crusade, Siege, Astonishing Spider-man & Wolverine)
5   Wade Von Grawbadger (New Avengers)

2) Most-adaptable: showing exceptional ink style versatility over other pencil artists in ’10 cover-dated interior comic book material
1   Mark Farmer (Avengers Prime, Hulk, Fantastic Four)
2   Jonathan Glapion (Outsiders, Batgirl, Haunt, Blackest Night Wonder Woman)
3   Scott Hanna (Avengers Academy, Incredible Hulk, Nova, Shadowland: Powerman, Batman & Robin, R.E.B.E.L.S.)
4   Mark Morales (Avengers: The Children’s Crusade, Siege, Astonishing Spider-man & Wolverine)
5   Cam Smith (Green Lantern: Emerald Warriors, Dark Wolverine, Avengers Academy, Fantastic Four Adventures)

3) Props award: inker deserving of more attention for their work over other pencilers from ’10 cover-dated interior comic book material
1   Mariah Benes  (Birds of Prey)
2   Rebecca Buchman  (Brightest Day, Green Lantern, Green Lantern Corps)
3   Vicente Cifuentes (Fall of the Hulks: Red Hulk, Green Arrow)
4   Derek Fridolfs  (Batman: Streets of Gotham)
5   Klaus Janson (Avengers)
6   Victor Olazaba (Shadowland, Age of Heroes)
7   Dan Parsons (Star Wars: Legacy War)
8   Trevor Scott (Batgirl, Freedom Fighters)
9   Cam Smith (Green Lantern: Emerald Warriors, Dark Wolverine, Avengers Academy)
10 Art Thibert (Doc Savage, Captain Action Comics Special, Brightest Day) 
11 Juan Vlasco (X-Men, Deadpool)

4) The S.P.A.M.I: for favorite Small Press And Mainstream-Independent ’10 cover-dated interior comic book ink work over another pencil artist (Non-Marvel or DC work)
1   Andy Owens (Buffy The Vampire Slayer-Season 8)
2   Todd McFarlane (Spawn, Haunt)
3   Cliff Rathburn (Guarding the Globe, Invincible)
4   Sal Regla (Artifacts, Magdalena)

5) All-in-one award: for favorite artist known for inking his/ her own pencil work in ’10 cover-dated interior comic book material
1   Neal Adams (Batman: Odyssey)
2   Francis Manapul (Adventure Comics, The Flash)
3   Jerry Ordway (Superman/Batman)
4   Chris Samnee (Thor: The Mighty Avenger)
5   Eric Shanower (Age of Bronze)

6) THE JOE SINNOTT AWARD (a hall of fame designation for an inking career of outstanding accomplishment in comic books (lifetime achievement, 25-years minimum- two winners chosen annually)
1   Murphy Anderson
2   Dick Ayers
3   John Beatty
4   Frank Giacoia
5   Dan Green 
6   Bob McLeod
7   Kevin Nowlan
8   Tom Palmer
9   Joe Rubenstein
10 Syd Shores
11 Joe Simon
12 Bob Wiacek
13 Wally Wood

Speak Your Mind